About Us

What you need to know about who we are and what we do.

Shropshire Advanced Motorists & Motorcyclists is a local group of the National Institute of Advanced Motorists based in Shropshire.

We are a charitable group completely run by volunteers who take no payment for their time.

However, like other local groups we provide a professional service for those who are interested in taking their driving or riding to the next level.

We aim to make driving/riding a more enjoyable and rewarding experience by giving you the skills you need to cope with today's driving/riding pressures. We can also tailor the courses to benefit the individual driver/rider, from people that wish to get more out of their car or motorcycle to those who just want to gain more confidence in their ability.

Also, along with the national IAM we are pushing a programme to encourage younger drivers/riders to take the courses and become involved in their local groups.

Please have a look at the services we provide on the above left to get more detail of what we can offer. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us using the link on the main menu bar.

We hope to hear from you soon! 

What you can take your Advanced Test in:

What you can take your Advanced Test in:

Currently Shropshire Advanced Motorists & Motorcyclists offer tests in the Private Car and Motorcycle categories. Please select the button links below to find out more information about the IAM or groups that offer other categories.

Go to the IAM website        Find other IAM groups

The Shropshire Advanced Motorists & Motorcyclists Group Committee Members

Who does what at Shropshire Advanced Motorists

Chairman David Carless
Vice Chairman Paul Warren
Secretary David Duggan
Treasurer Brian Yates
Chief Observer (Cars) Craig Mitchell
Deputy Chief Observer (Cars) Martin George
Chief Observer (Bikes) Terry Mansell
Deputy Chief Observer (Bikes) Daryl Bromley
Car Associate Coordinator John Bailey
Young Driver Liaison Philip Ryan
Motorcycle Observer Training Paul Collyer
Membership Secretary Sally Warren
IT Manager Gary Steinert
Events Coordinator Ian Biddle
Newsletter Editor Annemarie Riggs
Social Secretary Steve Clarke